SAVE MY SOUL or, A SONG FOR JESUS


©Phil Bottomley 2015

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

I was born on sawdust on a bare floor in Tennessee
My daddy was a gambler and my momma didn’t want me!
Wrapped in rags and screaming I was left on the preachers door
My momma ran away then, back to her life as a whore

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

I grew up mean and nasty, hating the cards I’d bin dealt
The preachers only answer was to whup me with his belt.
He’d say, “son I’m gonna beat you, get rid of all that sin.”
But he only ever succeeded in beating the sin back in.

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

I ran away at fourteen, stole a horse and a rusty gun
The sheriff’s posse chased me into the setting sun
I lost them in the desert, I hid neath rocks and sand
I never knew there was such a hot and barren land.

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

I got jobs with dirt poor farmers, I’d work for a bed and keep
At night I’d shoot and rob them while they was fast asleep.
I got caught stealing chickens down in Pine Buff, Arkansas
The judge gave me hard labour, said I was rotten to the core!

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

‘Though I got away with murder, I still got ten hard years
On a chain gang next to rapists, paedo’s an damn queers
One night I had a vision, the Good Lord came to me
He said, ‘change your ways for me son an I will set you free’.
Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

First I thought I was dreaming, The Lord don’t know me!
Next night I saw Jesus underneath an old Joshua tree.
I’m not easily frightened but that night I was running scared
Jesus, He just smiled and looked like he really cared

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

He said, ‘do what the Lord tells you, tread the righteous path,
Serve your time in peace son or feel my Father’s wrath!
Spend your days in here singing gospel, learning hymns
When your time is done find a river, wash away your sins’.

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.
Now the day has come, yeah, the prison is at my back
I will follow my Sweet Lord Jesus and never once look back.
I’m looking for sweet water, a river that’s wide and deep
Where I can wash away my sins for my soul to keep.

Take me down to the water, take me down I plea
The Lord said, “come to the river and I will set you free!”
So, take me down to the water, push my head down deep
Wash away my sins Lord, give me my soul to keep.

Author: philbo62

Retired businessman, always looking for inspiration and new ideas. Author of two books, writer of poetry.

1 thought on “SAVE MY SOUL or, A SONG FOR JESUS”

Leave a Reply

